Dumping/refilling/reccharging

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alanbl

Hi everyone!  I'm an absolute novice renting our first RV (in anticipation of buying) during the first week of Oct.  Heading down to Taos.  My preference is to stay as much off the grid as possible but I know that I'll have to empty the gray and black water tanks, fill up with water and recharge.  Is it possible to pay to perform these tasks at an RV park without actually having to stay overnight?  Are there other options?  Thanks in advance!

Alan

Hi Alan, and welcome to the RVForum. Yeah, Tom's right. A lot of private campgrounds will let you dump for a small fee. (Usually about $5 to $10) You can also download an app called (not surprisingly) "RV Dumps" by Allstays, which maps dump locations near you. It's a $3 app.

Kev

Or you can look online at https://www.sanidumps.com/ for free.

Charging your battery is going to be up to you. I have never heard of anyone offering this service.

Yes.  Included.  Citation Mercedes diesel 24ST.  Not exactly the Class B I was looking for but appears very nice. For purchase I'm interested in the more extended type van units.  But as I said originally, this will be my maiden voyage and who knows where it will lead!

few, if any, parks will do any of those for you, but you can pay to use the dump station yourself at many parks (but not all). And the dump station often has potable water available nearby as well.

Charging takes time and a power hook-up, so you will need to rent a site to do that if you don't want to use the onboard generator. However, if you drive the RV often, the engine alternator will also provide some charging and may keep the house battery fairly well charged. Chances are, however, that the RV has a single, modest-size battery and the capacity won't be that great.