Hitch: Fifthwheel vs. Gooseneck to Fix Height Issue?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CybexRV

Hi All,

I'm a newbie and looking for expertise and wisdom.  I just bought a new 2017 Dodge Big Horn and a then a used 2012 Shockwave Fifthwheel Toyhauler.  The Fifthwheel hitch came with the deal, but I had to by the rails for the OEM fifth wheel/gooseneck package built into the bed of my shortbed.  I had originally intended to look at putting a gooseneck adapter on the fifth wheel, but since the hitch came with the unit I was hoping to save some expense.  I already had to put out $640 for the rails that work with the OEM package.

Picked the unit and hitch and once on the truck realized the toy hauler is way high in the front and way low in the back.  And thats without having my HD bikes in there.  So from an expense and hastle point of view, does anyone have any input that could help?

Thanks!

Both the hitch and the pin box on the 5th wheel are adjustable to help lower the front of the 5th wheel but you want to maintain at least 6" clearance above the bed rails. Others with more knowledge will be along with more (better) advice soon.