New to Towing, Need Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Hey guys, I'm new to towing and to the forum. I'm planning a big move (Texas to Idaho) and I had the bright idea to buy a trailer (16 ft dual axle 7000lb capacity) to haul my stuff across country instead of waste money on a U-Haul that I'll never recoup. But of course now reality has slapped me in the face and I'm hoping I didn't make a mistake.

I have a 2001 Suburban which states it has a towing capacity of 8000lbs which is more than my trailer will hold (and I don't plan on loading the trailer to capacity anyway, and it states that the factory hitch is rated for that) and so it seems like everything will be fine. But after reading more about towing I've realized there is much more to it than that and I was hoping to get some advice from more experienced towers out there.

What am I missing? What things should I be checking into? I got a 6000lb capacity ball for the hitch, I'm trying to be cautious of what I take to make sure I don't overload anything. I don't want to burn out my engine or transmission on the way up there. I also have an opportunity to sell an Explorer I have and buy another vehicle, specifically a 1999 Silverado 2500 with a bigger engine and transmission that should be better for towing but it adds a lot of expense since after selling the Explorer I'll still have to pony up another $1,500 to pay for the Silverado plus all the taxes and I'll immediately take it to my mechanic to repair anything he finds wrong which could be who knows how much money ....... but if its a better choice or if I'd be stupid to try and haul all the stuff with my Suburban, then I'll take the chance and spend the money for a more suitable vehicle to haul the trailer.

Any advice guys? Am I in over my head? What am I not taking into consideration? Thanks in advance