Small LP tank usage

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RVRAC

I am new with this MH.  This will be my first winter in the south with it. I am leaving in a couple weeks.  I would like to use a small outside lp tank connected to it while spending many weeks on the same site.  This will reserved the propane in the bigger tank.  It would be easier to fill the smaller tank.  What do I need to use to connect it?  Would it shift automatically to the bigger tank when the smaller outside one is empty?  How well would it work?

extend a stay unit is what you're looking for. They work great, but, when you hook up the external tank, you have to turn off the coach tank, (if you don't, they will equalize) and when you need to refill the portable, you have to turn on the coach tank. A minor inconvenience when you figure  you don't need to break camp to refill propane.

Attachments

• extend a stay.jpg
    extend a stay.jpg
    76.3 KB · Views: 42
We use the mentioned "Extend-A-Stay" with a 30 lb cylinder on longer stops. Other than an occasional 3AM trip outside to switch tanks in colder weather, it has worked quite well for us and sure beats breaking camp to go get the onboard tank refilled. There are other names for similar setups, such as the "Stay a While" and the "Stay Longer". Amazon lists all three devices...

Back when I bought this ride Marshall Brass still made the Extend-a-stay.

Today Marshall Brass is out of that line but you can get one called Stay-A-While if I am not mistaken

Walk into most any RV dealer and ask for the "Extend-a-stay" and they will show you to the right product... Or odds are darn good they will.

Features