1992 Chevy Mallard Sprinter Electrical Problems

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

joshtb86

Hello!

I purchased a 1992 Chevvy Mallard Sprinter used with 31k miles on it and noticed the following issue:

When I turn on the chassis battery, none of the chassis 12v utilities run (fridge, lights, fans).

If I run the motor and the alternator is on, the 12v chassis utilities operate.

None of the AC utilities operate unless it is plugged into a shore line or the AC generator is running.

I am brand new to RVs and do not really have an idea of where to start. Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

This is the carfax info

1990 CHEVROLET P30
MOTORIZED HOME
7.4L V8 TBI OHV
GASOLINE
REAR WHEEL DRIVE

The fridge, lights, etc. run off the house battery, not the chassis battery. However, when you start the engine, the engine alternator supplies power to both house and chassis systems.

If by "AC utilities" you mean roof air conditioner, wall outlets, etc., then yes, you must have shore or genset power to operate those things. They require 120v power.

Gary RV_Wizard said:
The fridge, lights, etc. run off the house battery, not the chassis battery. However, when you start the engine, the engine alternator supplies power to both house and chassis systems.

If by "AC utilities" you mean roof air conditioner, wall outlets, etc., then yes, you must have shore or genset power to operate those things. They require 120v power.

thanks!

but when i turn on the house battery when the engine is off - none of the lights etc run. does that mean the batteries might be dead if the dc stuff only works with the engine on or power generator on?

also - the fridge i have only has options for auto and LP gas - i saw a 12 volt dc connector on the back but i am not sure if it was running when i turned on the engine - could that be a problem with the wiring?