That rotten egg smell from the water heater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Luddies

I am pretty new to the world of RVing and will no doubt have lots of questions/issues/cries for help coming in the near future.  Currently it is the rotten egg smell coming from the hot water heater.  We had experienced it in the early summer and followed the welcome advice from the forums.  I drained and flushed the water heater and gave it a good dose of vinegar with water (I didn't have any hydrogen peroxide on hand), letting it sit for a while before draining it.  Then we ran a good bleach/water mix through the storage tank and lines, filling the water heater with it as well.  Everything smelled great but today, as I was readying the motorhome for its first trip south I turned on the water heater to make sure everything was working well and when I turned on the hot water taps out came hot water accompanied by the dreaded rotten egg smell. Any suggestions out there for what steps I missed or for what perhaps I should have done?

Peroxide will work better but both are a short term fix. If you have a magnesium anode rod in the heater you may try aluminum/zinc if you can buy that part.

Are you per chance leaving it stored full of water with your fresh tank filled for extended periods?  Just wondering if maybe the smell is water borne from stale water sitting in the heater and the tank.  Sitting water likes to grow bacteria. 

Well, that is my best guess on this. Good luck with the solution. Smarter people than me may help a lot more with this issue.

How long did you leave the bleach mixture in the system?  I usually leave it overnight. In fact the last time I santized, I left it in the tank and lines for a few weeks because I wasn't going to camping for a while.