Help/Advice wanted...

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

stryffe

Hi fellow RVers!

This is my very first post on this forum along with our first summer with our newly purchased Dutchmen Aerolite 174E. So far, we are quite pleased with the little guy.

My question here today is not about the unit itself but more about something that happened the day we decided to pull the trigger on the HTT, which was the same day I took it out for a test tow with my TV, a 2004 Jeep Liberty V6 (4WD). Being a complete noob to the TT scene, I felt this test pull to be the single most important part of our decision making process as we weren't very sure how well our vehicle would handle the Aerolite and did not want to push our gently used but nonetheless older Jeep past its limits.

The Liberty has a tow capacity of 5,000lbs and a max tongue weight of 500lbs. I use an Anderson WD Hitch to pull the Aerolite 174E, which has a dry weight of 3,191lbs and a max cargo capacity of 662lbs.

Now, on the day of the test tow, I get to the dealership bright and early and head over to the area I was instructed to wait at for the Aerolite to be brought around for me.

While waiting for the HTT, I was given a(nother) brief demo of the hitch I intended to buy and was told to wait by my vehicle for one of the service techs who would be showing me how to properly install and setup the hitch on my vehicle.

Coming up is the crux and where my request for help/advice comes into play.