My setup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

John97031

Trading in our Jayco Greyhawk 26DS class C next week and picking up a Jayco Jayflight 28BHSE (i think SE is correct). To tow it I traded in our Ram 1500 4x4 hemi for a new Ram 2500 4x4 long bed diesel. I have something like 2500 weight carrying ability and well beyond the trailer weight in towing ability. But I'm new to towing (was a 18 wheel trucker for 2 years a LONG time ago). Is a weight distribution hitch needed or recommended?

It depends John. What is the loaded tongue weight of the TT expected to be (or the max tongue weight)?  When first starting out I had a 1 ton dually short bed with a 28' TT.  The suspension was so stout on the dually I ran with out the spring bars, and even carried some concrete blocks in the back of the truck to smooth out the ride. 

I don't think your 2500 will be quite that stiff, but I mentioned it for an example.

John,
Let me define a few terms.
First, you have plenty of truck.

The 2500# is your payload, or how much weight the truck can carry.  This includes all passengers, pets, cargo, tools and toys carried in the truck, plus the weight of the hitch and TT tongue wt.  The yellow label on the driver door latch pillar gives you the actual payload for your truck, and it should be around 2500#.

It appears the TT is about 6500# dry wt, or about 8000# loaded wt.
Tongue wt, or hitch wt must be at least 10% of the actual trailer wt, or 800#.  As Sarge said, you should not need a WD hitch for this.

Thanks for asking!

Dry  hitch weight is supposed to be 685 lbs.  Sounds like a little over 10%. So assuming we load it correctly the GVWR is  9250#. Hopefully we won't have that much. But I can see us in the 8,000# range. Two people, 3 kayaks, rack, and 2 bicycles I can see about 750 of our 2500 used up. Maybe 800. Should leave plenty for tongue weight.