Rv siding

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jgschwend

Ok, here's my story. I'm new ro rv's and forums. But, here goes. I recently purchased a 1986 c class honey. The air, heat, and fridge all work.  All the tires are new and best of all, it was dirt cheap! There's some pretty extensive water damage. I'm not too worried about the interior remodel. The problem lies in the siding. I'm fully prepared to rebuild the cab over but the fiberglass siding has buckled and in a couple of places split. I'm a contractor by trade so my thought immediately went to the materials I know. So, here's my question. Is there any reason I couldn't replace the fiberglass exterior with 26 GA metal siding that is used on metal roofs? Any thoughts, suggestions, and opinions will be greatly appreciated. I'm not trying to win a beauty contest. I just want it to be functional and make it the 50 miles to deer camp in the fall and the trip home in the spring.
Thanks in advance,
Josh

Welcome to the forum. They say be handy or have a lot of money. Well, it sounds like you are very handy so one way or the other you will figure it out. I have noticed that they do make a very small version of metal roofing. It's a much smaller profile than the regular stuff. I have notice in a post somewhere that the people doing a rebuild found the flat white filon type siding on line with free shipping.

I helped a friend rebuild a TT a few years ago, also for hunting camp use. We replaced one entire side using white FRP (Fiberglass Reinforced Plastic) 4'x8' sheets from Home Depot. The sheets on the outside were attached smooth side out for painting, and more FRP was used for the ceiling with the pebbled side showing.