Best Motorhome for a Single Retired Lady

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sandy22

Hi, everyone, Sandy here, and thrilled to find your forum!

I am a total newbie, who loves travel. I have decided to downsize and try living full time in an RV. I have three dogs (one is 110 lbs), the other two are huskies. I want to buy a used motorhome that is reliable and pretty easy to drive (I'm a very good driver) that won't take rocket science to figure out or maintain. After all, I'll be alone with the pooches.

Heard I should consider diesel ... and I'm thinking 30' + ?

Thoughts anyone? Should I join a club ... or what should I consider as a traveling single lady?

Thanks!!

Welcome to the forum Sandy, 

There are several other single ladies on here that may be able to answer some of your questions.

But... it may be a good idea if you Rented a motorhome and tried it out for a week or so.

you will learn a whole bunch in that week.

Good luck, Tony

With three large dogs, you definitely need space, so yes, 30+ ft.

A rear engine diesel is nice to have, but by no means necessary. It will be quieter and the air suspension is cushier, but it is also more costly to buy and maintain.

A Class A RV is easy enough to drive but takes some getting used to. The driver sits higher and more forward than in a van based RV (Class C or B), thus altering your perspective of the road.  Your many years of "muscle memory" associated with your driving skills will needs to get re-trained. Probably take 1000 miles of driving. Until you get accustomed to it, you will worry excessively about lane position and likely will over-correct with your steering.