Buying An Older Class C

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

NCSU Dad

I know I'm asking you to breakout the old crystal ball and there are many variables.

We are looking to buy our first RV. Senior citizen bracket. Being total newbies we wanted to be in for around $20,000.00 for two reasons.
a. if we decide RV'ing is not for us we can sell without losing are shirts.
b. if we find RV'ing is for us we'll learn what features we want so moving up we won't lose are shirts in a resale.
c. with 2 adults a 24 foot unit would fit our needs.

I'm seeing units 10+years old with low mileage, <50K, priced less than $10,000.00. Assuming everything works and the unit drives & stops as it should.

Searching on this forum I've read when buying lower priced motorhomes expect to spend at least the purchase price on repairs.

For peace of mind and as a W.A.G I would plan on doing:
$3,000.00 6 new tires
$500.00 brakes
$500.00 tune up
$200.00 belts
$500.00 fluids (oil, transmission, radiator, PS, brake fluid)
$150.00 battery
$4,850.00

That would leave us with $5,000.00 for surprises.

Would I be good to go?
What am I not seeing?

Thanks!

"I'm seeing units 10+years old with low mileage, <50K, priced less than $10,000.00. Assuming everything works and the unit drives & stops as it should."

Just because the ads say everything works that does not mean everything works like it should. None of the under $10k crowd are in very good shape or they would not be priced so cheaply. Remember you are buying both a vehicle and a house. Under $10k does not get you very much.