Convert bunks to office

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bethlin

I'm a newbie, just thinking through the idea of getting a fifthwheel or trailer as an idea. If I do get one, it would just be me and the dog, looking to full time for a year or so. I know that picking the ideal trailer is all about floor plan, floor plan, floor plan.

One of my ideas is to do a remodel to remove bunk beds and make that space into a small office. I work remoteand having a separate place for work stuff helps me did a better job of "unplugging" when I'm on the couch or at the dining table.

Does anyone have any good examples of doing something like that? Or any horror stories to convince me not to even attempt it?

B

SeilerBird said:
I think most fivers don't have bunks. I would shop for one you don't have to rebuild, it would be easier.

Mine does and they are full-size bunks so ample space for a small desk area. I have an outdoor kitchen below them which would probably prevent using the space as an office, though (you would have a very low ceiling!) unless you tore out the kitchen, too. Others with bunks but no kitchen probably have storage space or possibly the water heater below them, though, which would also make remodeling more involved than simply tearing out the bunks. If you find the right floor plan, though, it's certainly doable.

Look for a good used toy hauler. Use the back for your office.
https://www.rvtrader.com/listing/2016-Pacific-Coachworks-OTHER-5000416184

https://nh.craigslist.org/snw/d/2002-tail-gator-keystone-toy/6334393764.html