The Rialta and NADA

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

nine7oone

I've been shopping for my first RV for a few months. Actually, it would be more accurate to say I've been investigating and educating myself about RVs before committing to buying one. One thing I know for sure though is that I don't want a nearly forty-foot Class A RV. I know other folks have no problem with them, but  I would be so stressed out driving one I'd need a vacation from my vacation.

Since my knowledge of RVs was nonexistent when I started, I decided to check any RV that interested me with the NADA price guide. It was actually very helpful and enlightening. I found that the NADA price and the asking price were usually in the same ballpark. If anything, a lot of the asking prices were lower than the NADA price.

Then today I ran into an anomaly. I saw a picture of a very attractive, smaller RV and decided to investigate further. The RV was the Winnebago Rialta, and when I did my NADA check I found that the asking price for nearly every Rialta was nearly $10,000 (and often times a lot more)  than the NADA price.

I'm just curious if anyone knows why this is the case because it makes it hard to consider buying one. Thanks, David

Probably just a cult-like thing. Some models attract a following and the market prices reflect the demand.  Unlike the car NADA, the online NAGA Guide is just an estimated depreciation and does not take market demand into account. There is no system of wholesale auctions or price reporting with RVs, so there is no good data about actual prices. However, most Rvs tend to stay within range of the depreciation formula, at least for the first 12-15 years. Eventually, condition dominates age-based depreciation.