Winterizing a washer dryer combo unit

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

muskoka guy

This is my first year having a washer dryer combined unit. My friend said he just dumps a half gallon of anti freeze into the drum  and runs the unit through a cycle after he has drained the rest of the system. Anyone have any advice or approve of his method. Thanks in advance.

I may be doing a bit of “overkill” on mine, but, I do a little more. Dumping into drum and pumping out will take care of washing machine pump, but (unless you’ve thoroughly blown out the entire system) you will still have water in supply lines to washer. I pump through both cold and hot with the antifreeze, then pump machine empty. I’m probably wasting antifreeze, but it gives some extra “piece of mind”!

I generally only winterize the washer once per year, so I accept the additional cost as just another “operating expense”!

Because I winterize with antifreeze already, I use the Splendide optional winterizing procedure on the right column.  I do it close to last, then turn it on with a wash cycle on warm, let it fill until I see pink and the drum starts to turn, then power it down, go to spin, and restart it to drain the antifreeze.  I do that a couple of times. 

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    42.3 KB · Views: 14
The thing that Spendide doesn't emphasize in their instruction is protection for the RV's water lines to the washer. You still need to run air or antifreeze through the hot & cold lines that bring water to the washer. You can disconnect the lines to bleed air/antifreeze through those water faucets, or cycle the washer itself to let the air of antifreeze move through.