New basement a/c problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
The run caps for the indoor & outdoor blower motors are mounted inside near the motors.  I'm looking at the RVP 6535 Service Manual sketches and schematics.  It appears that the two blower motors don't have start caps.  Only the two compressor motors haves both start & run caps which are behind the metal access panel.     

I've been using the 50A Hughes Autoformer for the past 14 yrs on this coach and never had a capacitor failure in my basement unit and that's with 7 yrs fulltiming and a lot of a/c time.  Low voltage is a real killer on the start circuits and induction motors.  I don't have any first hand experience with cap problems. 

Your problem John, could be the outdoor blower motor bearings are so worn that the rotor is dragging against the stator.  That is a typical wear problem with my VW engine starter motor in my dune buggy.  I would open the access panel first to see if you can find a visual problem there.  Most likely you'll have to drop the unit to replace the run cap and pillow bearings and/or outdoor motor.

Ah-so, thanks for the explanation Bll (aka Mr. RVP  :D ) . The weather is really lousy (cold and windy) but when we have a nice day, I'll open the access panel and have a look-see.

John, while you are replacing the caps, you might want to consider moving them to a more accessible location.  I extended the wires and fastened them to the side of the cabinet and labeled them so I could tell them apart. All it took was a couple of holes, grommets and wires with ends. It has already paid off during my last episode.  There were some pictures taken but now I cant seem to find them.