HWT bypass on a 1999 Minnie Winnie C class

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

myboydallas

Hello ... I need some help.  I am trying to winterize my motor home and I am not sure how to bypass the HWT.  My plumbing/shutoff valves are located under the bed in the top right corner, under the mattress.  I had a friend help me winterize it a few weeks ago; we pulled the plug in the HWT to drain it, but the antifreeze was pouring out of the HWT and we were winterizing it.  My concern is there isn't enough antifreeze in the hot water lines to protect them.  I am not even sure if there is a bypass for the HWT?  I bought the unit used, so this is my first time winterizing it.  Can I put the plug back in and add more antifreeze by pumping it back through the lines or with the antifreeze damage my HWT?  I though maybe to rerun the antifreeze with the plug in, and then drain the HWT after I have rerun it through the lines again?

To fill the HWT, it will take about 6 (or 10) gallons of antifreeze, a real waste. For us to tell you how to handle it, please let us know how many winterizing valves you have on the output for the HWT. Could be 1 or 2 or 3. Perhaps someone with a Mini Winnie can jump in here.

For the tiny bit of water left after draining this tank, antifreeze protection in the tank itself is not needed. Once drained, if any left over water freezes, there is ample room for it to expand without damaging anything.

You didn't mention going around and running all the faucets until you get pink stuff running out of them. If you didn't do that, they are not protected along with all the pipes. Things will freeze and split. Don't forget the toilet.