Class C Motorhome Battery

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bozopolis

I'm new to the RV thing. We bought a Class C Fleewood Tioga this past April and we've used it a few times but unfortunately it sits most of the time. I have a BatteryMinder hooked to the engine battery and up to now it's worked fine. I thought I'd give it a crank today just to make sure and as luck would have it the engine would not turn over. I hooked up my big battery charger and put it on Engine Start and it did turn over. What in the motorhome would be draining the battery so that the BatteryMinder wouldn't keep it sufficiently charged? Is it enough to use the BatteryMinder of should I unhook the battery as well or something else. Help!  I'll charge the battery overnight to make sure it's back to full charge. I was told that starting it up and idling wasn't good and that the BatteryMinder was the way to go. But evidently I'm doing something else wrong. I do have some fans running inside for ventilation but I'm plugged into a 30amp outlet so they shouldn't drain the engine battery right? Nothing is plugged into the lighter sockets. Can't even guess what would drain it.

Thanks

There are some small parasitic loads on the chassis' electrical system, but unless something was left on, a Battery Minder that's hooked to the chassis battery "should" be able to keep it charged. You didn't mention how old the battery is, nor did you mention if the water level in the battery's cells had been maintained. Either of those could cause a battery to no longer be able to hold a charge.

By the way, not all RVs have charging systems that will charge both the House AND Chassis batteries. Many will only charge the House batteries when plugged into shore-power.

Kev

If your battery is good then you could also use a simple battery disconnect switch like this one.