No Click, No Start... Stuck

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alumbaugh89

Hello Everyone!

So, I am new to the RV world - I just purchased a 1989 Ford Tioga from a lady who didn't know much about the RV (claimed through her divorce) We started it right up and it idled for 5 minutes or so and then had decided to wait to move it until the next day.  It would not start like previously, and needed to be jumped. That was able to get it fired up as soon as we connected it to my car.

I planned on driving to a mechanic to have the engine tuned up/oil change and anything else needed, but unfortunately the motor home died on me 3 miles down the road. I put it in park and tried to start it but am now not getting anything at all. There is one loud click as soon as you turn the key on to acc mode but when trying to start i get nothing - no clicking at all. 

I had to have it towed to my parking spot where it sits now and I am lost at where to begin on troubleshooting this. I do know that it had sit for months prior, and i noticed an extreme amount of corrosion on the battery terminals on both batteries. Could this be it?

Would gratefully appreciate any advice on how I can get her running again....

Attachments

• IMG_0083.JPG
    IMG_0083.JPG
    8.8 KB · Views: 36
First step:  clean battery terminals and try again.
2nd step: If problem is still there -  Get new batteries.

Sounds like the first problem to deal with is lack of battery power, so try to charge that battery, or probably just go ahead and replace it sinc eit is of unknown age & condition.  The fact that the engine died inexplicably while driving also suggests that the alternator is not working, since it would normally provide enough 12v to keep the engine running.  It may have further issues, but I would start with what you know is bad.