Batteries......AGM vs. Conventional flooded cell

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mikeylikesit

So, after spending a bit of time learning about Batteries, and their RV specific applications.....

http://www.rvforum.net/miscfiles/Choosing_right_battery.pdf  and  http://www.vonwentzel.net/Battery/00.Glossary/

among others,......

I'm a bit torn as to which way to go.  I like the idea of a longer lasting battery with less maintenance, so I'm leaning towards the AGM type.  However, I'm replacing conventional deep cycle 6v batteries in a 21year old Coach, which was obviously designed (charging system) for conventional batteries....

As a Facility Maintenance Engineer, I am a big time proponent of the "it works, don't fix it" philosophy.  Hence, my dilemma.

I guess the question is, Has anybody with an older class A replaced the coach batteries with AGM type, and wished they didn't?  If so, why?

Thanks in advance......man, I sure have alot to learn about my RV, and appreciate the collective knowledge that this forum makes available!

Being your coach is 21 years old, it could probably benefit from a converter upgrade, so if "money is no object", go with the AGM's and an up graded converter. Try here for a new converter:

http://www.bestconverter.com/

Right now your best choice might be to buy the less expensive flooded, cell 6v golf cart batteries and put the extra money into a better converter.charger. You 21 year-old original is most likely a battery killer. What make and model charger is it?