My new camera

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SeilerBird

For those of you who do not know me (you are lucky) I am a retired wildlife photographer and three years ago I bought an iPhone 6 and sold my DSLR stuff. At that point I started using my iPhone for about 99% of my shots. I kept my 50x zoom bridge camera for the really long telephoto shots since cell phone cameras can't do telephoto yet but I rarely use it anymore. I only lasted a year with the iPhone and got out because I just did not fit in the Apple ecosystem. I then returned to Android with a Samsung S6 but only kept it a few months because I did not like the Samsung universe. I replaced it with an LG G4 that I have been using for the last year and a half. It was getting long in the tooth and when Google announced the new Pixel cameras it got my attention. I immediately ordered the Pixel 2 XL.

DxOMark is a French site that tests every new camera and gives it a score making it easy to compare cameras. The iPhone 6 scored a 73, the Samsung S6 scored an 86, the LG G4 scored an 83 and the new Pixels are scored at 98. This got my attention. I read the initial reviews and they were nothing but praise for the incredible camera, just about everyone calling it the best camera phone ever. I knew I had to have one so I ordered it immediately and it has not disappointed me in the least. The new iPhone X got a 97 so it is in second place currently.