Yet another diesel vs gas question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jbbrick

I'm going to look at a, '04 Journey 34' with the Cat (I think thats a C-7) , I already have an early Adventurer and have always has gassers in my many Rv's. I like the coach and the flat floor, floor plan, etc but I'm worried there may be too much maintenance or expensive repairs with diesel. I've always had Fords, V-8 and V-10 and never had any engine problems. I know they'll go for half a million miles which is longer than I'll live but i don't want a lot of little things going wrong and costing time and money. Any Journey folks or others with experience?  Thanks

If the unit has been well maintained you should have little to worry about. Yes, diesel service costs more but is less frequent so that is a wash. I have been driving a diesel for almost seven years and have had 0 engine problems, all the power I need and great fuel mileage. I wouldn't consider gas in a heavy coach but that's just my opinion.

I have a C7 350. Couple things I would spend the money on prior to delivery is a cutout test to see how the injectors are doing and a fuel sample downstream of the HEUI pump to see if it?s starting to have issues. I think they can also take the top off the pump to have a look. I would recommend having this done at a Cat dealer, not just a place that says they can work on them. I had to replace the pump and an injector (thankfully both covered under the extended warranty I purchased).

Also get samples tested for oil (which can also show early signs of HEUI failure along with engine condition), trans, rear end and coolant.