why generators need to run under load

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

winona

I've been told to run my generator under load and I do.  But why under load?  What makes the difference if i just let it run versus turning on the a/c or heat too?  And run it monthly?

I'm not an electrician.

I don't run mine monthly in the winter or summer for that matter.
I do run it going down the road if needed or if no shore power is available.
I have run it from time to time but I have no set schedule for running it.

I do run it under load when I do run it.
My guess is it's better to run voltage through the coils - maybe it dries any moisture out of them.
Maybe it's better for the engine too - most people wouldn't start their car and just let it idle and never drive it.
I would think running the coolant through it would be better for it too. IF no load was ever put on it, would it ever use the
coolant for it's purpose?  IDK.

My generator has about 270hrs on it - when I bought it, it had about 230 - so I put about 40 hrs on it in the year I have owned it.
When I'm home, most of the time it's plugged in, so for me it's more for on the road use or at rest stops I'll run it if I'm going to be there
for more than 20-30 minutes.

I know that someone with way more knowledge will be able to tell you better then I can answer your question.

winona said:
I've been told to run my generator under load and I do.  But why under load?  What makes the difference if i just let it run versus turning on the a/c or heat too?  And run it monthly?

The problem is you need to load the "generator" part to heat it up and remove moisture. Running with no load doesn't load the windings.
Bill

I've heard that if it isn't run for a long time, a generator will loos its residual magnetism, and won't produce any voltage. The way to maintain magnetism is to put a load on the generator.