1991 Bounder Motorhome Compressor

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bounderlife

We just purchased a 1991 Bounder (40', gas with a 460) Motorhome. It was parked and a few items were stolen out of it. I have replaced the stolen batteries. The compressor was stolen and I am trying to figure out the size of a new compressor. The motorhome has a tag axle. Can someone please tell me how to get this motorhome back and running? Thank you.

I need to get the airbags filled. (at least that is what I think)...... I am just learning all this???

Unless you have a setup I'm unfamiliar with, you don't need an air pump to drive your Bounder. Air bags on a gas coach are supplemental suspension devices - they simply assist with load leveling, and they help avoid bottoming out. Diesel coaches have air-ride suspension and air brakes, so the engine-mounted air pump is required just to release the brakes and raise the coach to ride height.

Sorry to hear someone ripped you off, but you should be able to drive your coach just fine until you get the pump replaced.

Kev

The front air bags need to be filled, typically 35-55 psi, but they are supposed to be filled once, manually, and retain that pressure indefinitely. If they don't, the bags are leaky and need to be replaced. Leaky bags are a common problem on older Chevy motorhome chassis but replacements are readily available and owners often DIY the repair.  The front also has coil springs, but at least some air is needed in the front bags.

If your Bounder  had an onboard compressor for the suspension, it may also have rear air bags that are an additional assist for the rear leaf springs. That add-on rear air assist often came with a small compressor to make it easy to adjust the air-assist for load. The suspension is probably ok without it, so that could be a low priority repair.