My Crackhead Camper (2006 Gulfstream Cavalier, FEMA Emergency Housing Unit)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alabama Peasant

[img 1]
I bought this thing for $1,000 plus free transport. My plan is to put it on my property to live in, or if that can't be done then I'll use it as a semi-mobile storage shed and workshop, which is what it was being used for beforehand. I know the FEMA have a bad reputation, and it does look pretty rough right now. I've been telling friends that I'm buying a crackhead camper to park beside my unabomber shed and my hillbilly outhouse. I have no significant experience remodeling RVs or trailers.
[img 2]
One window is missing, the others have their rubber liners pealing off and caulk applied to prevent leakage around them, I'm thinking of replacing all of these in favor of some that can open.
[img 3]
I wish the roof had been caulked a little better. The part under the rubber membrane feels quite weak and spongy in some places, especially in the back, and the bathroom fan is uncovered. I know I'm going to have to do a lot of work here, and for all I know it may involve replacing it entirely. No sign of leaks around the AC unit.
[img 4]
No sign of damage to the walls in the front bedroom. That's good, but the floor is weak in places around the bed and cabinet and I can tell that there's been some work done to it by previous owners (non-original plywood; wish I'd thought to take a picture of it).
[img 5]
Mold under the bed. Not a good sign, though I won't know how bad it is until I take up the flooring. Probably not as bad as in some houses I've lived in.

As an aside, I know these things have a terrible reputation for toxic levels of formaldehyde. As far as I can tell, this one doesn't smell any worse than any other old trailer. That is a good thing, though if there's a cheap way to test for that then I plan on doing it.