HELP A NEWBIE LEARN

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Paula Deen

I am brand new to the RV world and am SO glad I found this website! My wife and I are in our early 30's and are looking to buy a used class  C (1988-1998 model)  to re-model the interior. We want something with a strong motor/tranny. It is easy enough to tell if a vehicle starts/drives/idles or overheats. My question is what are some of the RED FLAGS we should be looking out for? Father-in-law is a electrician/ builder so we will have professional help. We just want to make sure it is mechanically sound. Looking at spending around 6-8K on the RV and another 8-10K on the renovation. Any advice at all would be fantastic! Thanks a lot!!!!

I am biased but I like diesel power.  In the time era you mentioned, the only vans offered with a diesel were the Chevrolet and Ford, Ford being the stronger and more popular. It would have the naturally aspirated 7.3 up until 1994 when a turbo was optional, then the electronically controlled "Powerstroke" was released soon after.  It was the best diesel in a van in that era and a strong runner.  In any of the van based RVs, the weak link seems to be the transmission so definitely check that and keep it serviced.

I know you plan to do a major remodel, but I would absolutely avoid anything with water damage or soft spots on the floor or walls (water damage).  That would indicate roof repairs were needed as well  as additional interior work.  You have enough work planned.  Do not add to the list!

I would also look for one with a floor plan close to what you want to reduce the need to do major plumbing relocations.

Keep us informed of your progress!