Atlanta - what a mess!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tom

Administrator
Atlanta airport got hit with a major power outage, grounding all flights and stranding countless passengers. The domino effect will screw up schedules at numerous other airports. I'm so glad I no longer fly for a living.

Amen to that, Tom!!!  Last spring we had to go through Atlanta and slept on the airport floor when "tornado-like conditions" hit the area and Delta alone cancelled several hundred flights.  Thousands of people were standing in VERY long lines and/or sleeping wherever they could find a space.  It took 36 hours to get from Las Vegas to Greenville SC.  Jerry said it was the worst flight he ever had and you know he also flew many thousands of miles when working.

ArdraF

I can?t imagine how long it take to get all the passengers in Atlanta where they are supposed to be plus those delayed getting to ATL. It isn?t like there are lots of empty seats this time of year! I read that 275,000 people a day go through ATL. I think it will be a great year to drive ...

Last time I was in Atlanta Airport was that day that Delta's computer system crashed. The airport was like a refugee camp.
I can't think if another airport that would be worse than ATL without power.

What I never knew was that the Atlanta airport is the busiest in the WORLD.  That surprised me.

I know the freeway around Atlanta had more trucks than I've ever seen anywhere else in the country.

Remind me not to go to Atlanta, I don't do well in cities. ::) A few years ago friends tried to get out of Seattle which was snowed in, that turned into a nightmare too.

Juat imagine. If they made a call to Tesla, or a competitor, with all the roof space an air port has, and potential roof space (over parking lots) They would NEVER have a power outage