Converter help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jpruitt

Ok so I’m new to this and am looking for help. We bought an older 96 coachman Catalina bumper pull. It had the Magnetek 6300 6345 converter in it. It’s not working. The shoreline powers one light, the fridge and ac and outlets but nothing else. When we bought it, the guy had a battery hooked up and all worked. Battery didn’t come with it so we need one. But obviously we need the converter to work to keep it charged but my understanding is we don’t technically have to have the battery bc the converter will do what we need. So I went to an RV repair place in town. He recommended the cheapest way to go was to get a WFCO 9845. We did. We split the power cord and hooked it all up how it seems to be needed to hook up but the converter breaker keeps tripping. WTH. I don’t want to go buy another new converter is this one should work. Can anyone help? Could it be as simple as the little skinny breaker box for the converter needs to be replaced? If everything works on battery then all the wiring should be good right? So what’s with the converter breaker???

The WFCO 9845 should work fine, so something is hooked up wrong on the 120v (input) side. 

No, "everything works on battery" does not mean everything is wired right on the 120v side.  In fact, it proves nothing at all about that.  You need to focus problem isolation on the 120v wires to the 9845 and anything else that shares that circuit & breaker.

Are you sure the old converter is disconnected? I'm talking about the components inside the old Magnetek that performed the 12v converion and charging functions.