EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: receptacles  (Read 1843 times)

mellis

• ---
receptacles
« on: December 29, 2017, 11:25:49 AM »
hello everyone ,,, i have another weird thing i found ,,,,  i am an electrician ,,,  i was going to change 2 of the receps   to  receps with ports for charging phones ,,,  when i pulled the recep out i found there is no  boxes in the wall ,,,  the receps just had wings to hold it in the wall,,, is this normal in an rv ,,,   very short  12 wire coming right into recep  and insalation ,,,   i do not think this is  safe ,,,   

thanks again
« Last Edit: December 29, 2017, 11:31:03 AM by Sun2Retire »

kdbgoat

• ---
Re: receptacles
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2017, 11:55:34 AM »
Yep, normal in an RV. And they back stab the receptacles on top of that. Get decent receptacles, side wire them under the screws, and tape 'em up with 33.
I know you believe you understand what you think I said,
But I am not sure you realize what you heard is not what I meant

2016 Leprechaun 319DS

mellis

• ---
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2017, 03:15:44 PM »
i would do that but i have nothing to attach the receps to,, i would have to install a box to hold them in  ,  these seem to be  special receps that have the fins on them just like an old work box  ,,,  sucks   lol 

OLDRACER

• ---
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2017, 04:34:36 PM »
Cheap build, thin walls, little space. Maybe a shallow box, plastic, glue in place? Not much in those walls to move around and interfere with wires.

Then again, as a customer service told me years ago, speaking abut a name brand RV range, "We did not intend for you to LIVE in those things!!!"

John From Detroit

• ---
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2017, 04:48:31 PM »