generators

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pv

I've been dragging travel trailers around the country for the last 20 yrs. I now find a need for a generator for my new 5th wheel.  A freak snow storm knocked out all power in Franklin NC (1st week in Dec) and of course my LP didn't work.  I'm new with generators and am learning many different models etc., etc...  Any over the road experience would certainly be appreciated.  thanx pv

Well, you need one large enough to supply the power (watts) you typically use. However,  the ratings on some gensets fall somewhat short of truth in advertising ideals. They may advertise "peak" capacity (limited time) rather than a lower "sustained" (long time) number, and that amount may only be available at 240v, where as many RVs can utilize only 120v sources.  If your trailer has a 30A shore power cord, you need a 120v outlet on the genset and can only use the max available watts from that one outlet. That's often a 15A or 20A outlet, so at 120v that's 1800-2400 watts.  Usually plenty as long as you aren't air conditioning or heating with it. But you probably want a space heater right now...

Usually portability is a concern on trailer gensets. You have to store it somewhere and carry it out when needed. Weight and size are a factory.

Have a Champion 50 amp Gen I bought from Cabellas and works as advertised.  Been through several hurricanes without power and use/used my campers for refuge when needed.

Given the dates you mention for the storm, I assume that you are no longer shivering in the cold. 

While a generator is a fine accessory to have, might I suggest that getting your propane system fixed is a higher priority in dealing with the situation you mention? Heating with electricity takes a huge generator, as Gary mentions. Propane is a much better way of heating.

Frank.