Open mic' offerings

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tom

Administrator
Getting ready for open mic' offerings, I thought I'd add a George Formby number known by us olde Brits ... 'Leaning On a Lamp(ost)':

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vEymZ3rXOmc

One of a few of George's numbers that used a simple strum on his banjo ukulele (except for a breakout near the end). Many of his numbers used his self-taught split strum, which is beyond my strumming abilities. Meanwhile, I'd have to sing an octave (or two) lower.

Yesterday I learned that someone else is planning to audition that number. I'm off to find something else.

You could always do "Does your chewing gum lose its flavour on the bedpost overnight" it's a catchy tune and funny......

Aye, but Lonnie Donegan had a skiffle band. Don't know how it would sound on ukulele  ;D

It could be played, with practice; Easy chord progression and Lonnie's skiffle strum. But I wouldn't be ready to perform by Tuesday. Couldn't see the Band playing/singing it, but maybe a small/breakout group comprised of a uke, a bass and a washboard.

Tom said:
It could be played, with practice; Easy chord progression and Lonnie's skiffle strum. But I wouldn't be ready to perform by Tuesday. Couldn't see the Band playing/singing it, but maybe a small/breakout group comprised on a uke, a bass and a washboard.
I thought you were a miracle worker !

8Muddypaws said:
How about "Shaving Cream".  I think there's about 300 verses.  Make an evening of it!
Had to look that one up, sounds like a song that could get out of control ??

jackiemac said:
You could always do "Does your chewing gum lose its flavour on the bedpost overnight" it's a catchy tune and funny......