Alternator options

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Conquest2011

Hi from Kuwait

Coming out of the wood work finally. Been a lurker for many years now, been reading and studying my way thru the RV world. I am well read on the subject. Thanks to the wonderful contributors of the many caring RVers on this site I am an expert on RVing with hardly any experience. Hopefully, when DW and I takes the plunge this year we will be in a better position to contribute to the cause here.

For right now I am on my last deployment then I will be dual retired and enjoying the RV life style. This bring me to purchasing our new truck for our too be purchased 5th wheel. As many have said ?that you never run out of learning and experiencing new things RVing?.

Well, I have a question concerning alternators. I am ordering the truck soon and now is my opportunity to order it exactly or as close to perfect as I can. The alternator is a stock 150 amp on a diesel engine. I will be towing a large 5th wheel and probably traveling no more than 350 to 500 miles on any particular day. I am retired don?t care how far we get. Any ways will that 150 amp stocked alternator be enough to charge and maintain the house batteries in the 5th wheel? Most likely at this point the batteries will be 1 or 2-12 volt stocked batteries.