AC schroud cracked

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rene T

Site Team
About 4 years ago, I removed the shroud off my AC (air conditioner). When I turned it over, I noticed several cracks in the shroud . The color of the shroud is black so it may be ABS.  I made repairs  by scuffing the surface real good and applied a couple layers of fiberglass/resin. It looked good at the time. I took the shroud off today and all the glass was just hanging there ready to completely fall off. What did I do wrong? 

Do you recall if you used Polyester, Vinyl Ester or Epoxy Resin?  I'm no expert either, but I'm pretty sure it makes a difference depending upon what the original base material is.  If you were like me some time ago, I just used some Polyester resin available at the local auto parts store and it was a poor choice for repairing my epoxy resin fiberglass boat.

Molaker said:
Do you recall if you used Polyester, Vinyl Ester or Epoxy Resin?  I'm no expert either, but I'm pretty sure it makes a difference depending upon what the original base material is.  If you were like me some time ago, I just used some Polyester resin available at the local auto parts store and it was a poor choice for repairing my epoxy resin fiberglass boat.

I have no idea Tom. If I was back home, I could find the can of resin and let you know.  Maybe I'll go to a auto parts store some day and see what they say. Or a body shop.

First; I am thinking that the shroud was plastic, (poly) in which case regular two part epoxy won't work on plastic.
Secondly, a few years back, West Systems came out with "G-flex" epoxy which indeed will adhere to not only plastic but also to wood and metal.