One time trip question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

brclark82

My father is considering purchasing an RV soon but doesn?t have his TV yet. If he does purchase it, it will be towed to a campsite and left there permanently (at least until he gets his TV).

I have never towed a Travel trailer but I do know Weight distributing hitches are required. My question is: would I be ok towing it one time around 100 miles to its final destination without one, or would that be a bad idea.  Just curious as I have no experience with this, although I do have hundreds of thousands of miles experience towing. 

My truck: ?17 Chevy 2500HD Duramax- 7500 curb weight, 2500 payload
Trailer: 7700lbs GVRW, 6400 UVW, 705 hitch weight, 32? long
There will be no gear loaded for the trip but I?m assuming it still weighs more than 6400 just being prepped at the dealer.

I am aware that around 4K trailer weight with my particular truck  I should start having WD, but I don?t have one and don?t really want to buy one. I also will not do anything that would endanger myself or others so I thought I?d see what everyone?s thoughts were first.

The tongue weight on that trailer is going to be in the vicinity of 650 lbs.  I would expect your 2500HD will cope with that much weight on the hitch rather well, since it is a modest percentage of its payload capacity.  You will know when you hitch it up - the amount that the back of the trucks sags and the proportional amount that the front lifts is the test.

I doubt that you will kill your truck.  You have a good truck.  Keep your speed down, and avoid interstates if possible.  Plenty of people jockey trailers around, work trailers and such, that are damn heavy and couldn't tell you what a WD hitch is.  I wouldn't let it concern me.

Thanks, that?s kind of what I assumed but just wanted to check since I didn?t have any experience.