Towing capacity of the Cummins ISL 450

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Maine-ah

I'm new to the RV industry and looking for some feedback on the Cummins ISL 450 towing capacity.  I have a CDL A license and driven a variety of construction vehicles in my earlier years and understand the torque vs. horsepower comparison.  Recently i test drove an Entegra 45' coach but it was in Florida on flat ground, no fluids, no gear, nothing in tow and certainly no hills like we have in the Northeast.  My question is if the 1250 torque is enough to pull the coach fully loaded with an F250 in tow and hilly terrain.  I do know the Cummins 450 is in plenty of coaches and expect many have towing needs but i'd like to confirm it with some past or present users.  If it was the case of spending a few extra bucks to get the 605 and 1850/2050 torque i'd certainly do that but most of you probably know the engine is not an option.  Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. 

We don't have a Cummins engine, but we have a CAT C-12 with 425HP and 1550 lb-ft of torque.  We tow a ~3,400lb Honda CR-V and our coach (~34,000 lbs) never notices it is there.  We've driven ~55,000 miles in the past 8 years and have climbed some of the steepest grades in North America.  Don't forget that HP determines your speed when climbing a steep grade while torque OTOH governs how fast you move off the line from a stop.