New to & Looking to Buy a Used Tow Dolly Could use Some Help on Price and Model

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gizmo

Looking to buy used as this may not be a long term need.  I just saw an ad for a Stehl with surge brakes that is 3 years old w less than 5000 miles on it, they are asking $1,200.00.  I looked at a local dealer selling new and new they have them priced at $1,700 or 1,800 with surge brakes, so $1,200 for a 3 year old unit seemed high to me, but again I am new to tow dolly's and I have no idea of how much they depreciate.  Also, any thoughts on Stehl as a brand would be appreciated.  Thanks.

I think it?s a lot of money for a used one.  If you are looking for one with surge brakes, you can get a new one for that price new from a different brand.

There's not too much demand for used tow dolly's, they might accept it.

Not sure that is the case in some regions, but definitely make an offer. I see a lot of them for sale here in Florida, but they also seem to sell regularly.  Agree that $1200 is a bit steep, but nice clean ones with brakes, reliable wheel tie-downs & a spare tire go for around $950-$1000 here. If one comes up for sale at $800-$900, it gets snapped up quickly.

Stehl is one of the good brands; others include Master Tow, Demco (Kar Kaddy), and Roadmaster.  American Tow Dolly's EZE Tow is the low price leader.  I'm not impressed with EZE Tow myself, but the price is attractive.

Surge brake units are somewhat hard to find for some reason; most dollies with brakes are electric. Probably better overall, but requires a brake controller on the tow vehicle. When I needed a dolly for just one season use, I hunted for a surge brake unit and couldn't find a used one in any reasonable condition. Ended up buying a Master Tow with electric brakes.