Fifth Wheel Pinbox

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BruceinFL

My Trailair pinbox has corroded to the point where it has to be replaced. Trailair (now Lippert) doesn't make the pinbox for my RV anymore. There is a Reese Sidewinder available and also a Morryde. Morryde is way less $ than the Sidewinder but I have no experience with either. Any comments or experiences with them would be appreciated.
Thanks.

I have no experience with pin boxes, but it's my understanding that a Sidewinder is mostly used with short box trucks that could have an issue making tight turns. Personally, I couldn't see paying for a feature that I didn't need. Have you looked a 5thAirborne?

A Sidewinder is an entirely different level of function than a Trail-Air or MorRyde. Do you want or need that? If not, paying extra for it makes little swense.

etrailer.com has an excellent help article on pin box types and sizing, as well as a compendium of brands.  See https://www.etrailer.com/faq-measuring-a-fifth-wheel-pin-box.aspx

Near as I can tell, the Trailair and 5th Airborne are essentially the same using an airbag. Difference is in the location of the airbag. Price of each are very close. The Trailair did a great job for us for 13 years but the cost now is almost double what it was at that time. The Morryde uses a rubber "spring" but I haven't talked to anyone who has one and would like to get feedback from any users.

Most fiver manufacturer's will void a warranty if a gooseneck adapter is used. I understand there's no warranty involved here, but the point is gooseneck adapters are apparently very hard on the frame of a fifth wheel.

kdbgoat said:
Most fiver manufacturer's will void a warranty if a gooseneck adapter is used. I understand there's no warranty involved here, but the point is gooseneck adapters are apparently very hard on the frame of a fifth wheel.