rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: climate control  (Read 697 times)

LarryJordan

  • Posts: 2
climate control
« on: February 14, 2018, 08:14:35 PM »
I have a 2004 32VSouthwind and cannot find the climate control shed module.  I looked under the fridge for the 3 position switch.  Any help?

Gary RV_Wizard

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 64409
  • RVer Emeritus
Re: climate control
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2018, 11:39:25 AM »
3 position switch?   Not sure what you mean by that.

If yours coach has 50A shore power, you probably have an Intelletec load center (breaker panel) with the EMS (load shed) integrated. The actual module(s) are behind the load center panel and consist of a controller with multiple relays. I believe there is also a 30A version of it, but not sure.  The 50A remote display looks like the one in this manual: https://janeandjohn.org/docs/EMSmanual.pdf

If you have the older Intelletec Electronic Climate Control with Load Shed, the thermostat for the heat & a/c will look like the one in this manual: http://www.discoveryowners.com/ECC.pdf
That one has a separate module for the load management but it is usually located near the breaker panel.
Gary
--------------
Gary Brinck
Summers: Black Mountain, NC
Home: Ocala National Forest, FL

Old_Crow

  • ---
  • Posts: 815
  • Former Phantom Fixer
Re: climate control
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2018, 04:53:46 PM »
Gary, my '00 Bounder is a 30amp coach, and my heat/a/c control panel looks like the one you linked to in the discoveryowners.com  link, so, yes, there's a 30amp version
Wally Crow
Retired 30 year ASE Master Auto Tech
Y2K Bounder 36S F53
'03 Jeep Wrangler Sahara

Gary RV_Wizard

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 64409
  • RVer Emeritus
Re: climate control
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2018, 09:06:09 AM »
The ECC thermostat is designed for 30A systems and used exclusively with them. It always limits a/c power to a max of 30A, so would limit a 50A rig as well.   The "30A version" I was referring to is a variant of the EMS style shown in the "janeandjohn" link.   I found an example of the 30A version of the EMS system and the remote display looks like this:
http://www.dyersonline.com/intellitec-power-management-system-monitor-display-panel.html
« Last Edit: February 16, 2018, 09:10:44 AM by Gary RV_Wizard »
Gary
--------------
Gary Brinck
Summers: Black Mountain, NC
Home: Ocala National Forest, FL

Old_Crow

  • ---
  • Posts: 815
  • Former Phantom Fixer
Re: climate control
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2018, 04:38:17 AM »
Ok, so that one is EMS only and would have a separate thermostat for the a/c/heaters. 
Thanks for the link, anyway.  Among all the manuals I got with the coach I didn't get one for the EMS.  I had a basic understanding of how it worked, but now I have a copy of the manual if it ever goes on the fritz.
Wally Crow
Retired 30 year ASE Master Auto Tech
Y2K Bounder 36S F53
'03 Jeep Wrangler Sahara

Old_Crow

  • ---
  • Posts: 815
  • Former Phantom Fixer
Re: climate control
« Reply #5 on: February 18, 2018, 05:05:22 AM »
Talk about bad Karma.  I woke up this morning and the front furnace in my coach isn't coming on.  Can't hear the relay click when I move the thermostat...but I've got the book!
Now to wait for it to get light and stop raining so I can look at it.
Wally Crow
Retired 30 year ASE Master Auto Tech
Y2K Bounder 36S F53
'03 Jeep Wrangler Sahara