Problem with Chrome book

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

eliallen

Problem with the  browser on my Chromebook,  on you tube  or any other site,  I enter the Number 1 or 2  in the search block, the page close and returns to the previous page. No problem with any other number. I have  Power washed, many times. Set up a new user.  Sent it in to Asus.  When it came back it did the same thing a few times then worked ok until today.  Tks

Wow, I am stumped. I have been using Chromebooks since 2012 and love them. I have never had any problem with any of them software wise. I just tried entering the numbers 1 and 2 into the Google search bar and it searched for 1 and 2. It cannot be a virus, it cannot be malware. I am guessing that there is a problem with the motherboard but I have no clue as to what it is.

Google changed its ad policy and ad tracking on that day.  I had to do a complete "power down master clear" and everything is working fine again.  A soft power down will not make a difference.  Soft power down = doing a reboot from OS menu,  Hard power down = close everything and press power button or on OS menu select "shut down"

This first started  Dec. 2017. I am waiting on Asus Tech support. I think it is mechanical, not software related.

I'm going to venture a guess that is it a keyboard problem.  Possibly a solder fracture or dirty key switches, but more likely foreign material causing an intermittent short between data lines.  You might try a can of compressed air for keyboard cleaning.

spencerpj said:
delete the program, and reinstall.  Pretty easy if you have decent connection
Power wash did that.
Molaker said: