Winterized RV question.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kemo

Hi folks.  Ok so we bought a new 5th wheel last fall and when the season was over I winterized the rig.  No I'm not a complete newbie as we shared a Class A with my in-laws for years.  BUT as I was thinking about spring coming and getting ready for our first outing I couldn't remember if I actually drained the shower when I did all the rest.  I drained the fresh water, water heater and both facets in kitchen and bath but I think I forgot the shower plumbing.  My question is should I be worried about the lines getting frozen over the winter?  For sure a rookie mistake.

If you have Pex water pipe, you may be all right.  The fittings might crack before the pipe will. 
You did drain the gray water tank? 

Did you by chance leave the faucets open  if so the water would have not had anything to expand against and not caused a problem.

Tom Hoffman said:
If you have Pex water pipe, you may be all right.  The fittings might crack before the pipe will. 
You did drain the gray water tank? 

Did you by chance leave the faucets open  if so the water would have not had anything to expand against and not caused a problem.

Thanks Tom.  Yes I drained everthing. 

RedandSilver said:
Did you blow out the lines or use anti-freeze?

Used anti-freeze.  But like I said forgot to open shower head and run anti-freeze thru it.

Just wondering - if you raised the shower head with the pump turned off, and opened the spigots on the shower, would the water in the hose drain back into the fresh water tank?  Or is it better to pump antifreeze through the shower head ?
How about an outside shower?
just curious...

You should have pumped the pink antifreeze through the shower and also through the toilet.
In other words through the entire system including all faucets.

jack L

Fogetty said: