Newbie Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nellie90

Hello all!! I'm so excited to have found this forum! I recently started looking into full-timing as a lifestyle and this has been a huge help!! I'm looking to leave with my boyfriend and dog (and maybe our cat if he likes it!) in September 2019 (date flexible!). We are starting to look into our budget and what we want to drive more seriously. I'm a teacher, so am planning to buy something used and spending the summer of 2019 renovating and making sure its road worthy. However, I was hoping I could get some insight...

I can definitely handle cosmetic renovations, I think I could deal with some structural, and I am confident with electrical and plumbing knowledge (thanks for teaching me young, Dad!). In other people who have already bought used, what would be "too much" to deal with? I'd definitely like to stay away from serious mechanical issues, because I don't want it to be a total money pit. What are some major red flags I should be looking for as I'm shopping around? Is all water damage a no-go, or are there some areas that would be okay?

Also if anyone has a LOT of time, would someone be able to walk me through buying a used RV from a PO? I am planning on paying cash (hoping to be around or under $10,000). As for the paperwork end, what needs to be arranged prior to selling? What should I make sure I have in writing? I am from NH and will likely be buying from New England or New York area.

Thank you so much!

Nellie90 said: