Lightning

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
masterdrago said:
When I worked in the A/C repair and Appliance business, I saw where a strike hit a tree a few feet from a house corner, jumped to a condensing unit cracking the concrete and moving the unit 8", moving somehow across the house jumping off a turn-off vlv under a commode, blew a 2" hole in the floor, and jump off a 1/4" water line to the refrigerator on the other side of the house. I think it ignored all other paths to grounded stuff. Found this to be a good link to monitor when having antennas up. http://en.blitzortung.org/live_dynamic_maps.php
I have bookmarked that, it should come in handy. Although quite often where we seem to be is where the storm is  ::)

masterdrago said:
I think it ignored all other paths to grounded stuff.

Yup. It's a common misconception that the tires of your car offer protection. But in reality that lightning bolt just traveled anywhere from one to several miles through no other conductor than the air; that last 6" of space offered by the tires isn't going to do much good. It's the Farady Cage principle that allows the charge to travel around the occupants through the frame leaving them unharmed. Same reason airplanes can be hit all the time without hurting anyone. The most damage to an airplane is typically caused when the charge leaves and continues on its way.

masterdrago said:
Found this to be a good link to monitor when having antennas up. http://en.blitzortung.org/live_dynamic_maps.php

Wow, what a great site! Bookmarked