Picking up my Used RV tomorrow from a dealership-what to look for ?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Humanaquarian

Picking up my 2011 Coachmen 220 LE And I am a total newbie to this so I am wanting to ask some questions about what to look for ...should I trust the dealerships mechanic when they have a checklist and you know things that I should know before I buy it. Also what should I ask to throw in or what not,  thanks!

Humanaquarian said:
...should I trust the dealerships mechanic when they have a checklist

No you should not trust them. The dealer has one goal: get you out the door.

It's short notice, but I would quickly shop for a professional inspector unaffiliated with the dealer that could accompany you for a PDI (pre delivery inspection), and have him/her go with you to inspect the unit before you leave the lot. Might cost you a couple hundred or so but well worth the money. If the dealer has a problem with this walk away.

Never trust a salesman that "everything is OK".  Here is an example of an article in the library of a list you should take and refer to during your PDI (pre-delivery inspection).

http://www.rvforum.net/joomla/index.php/15-checklists/58-buying-a-used-motorhome

And don't be dissuaded from your checklist. And also don't buy the line "we will fix everything after the all the paperwork is done".  All of your items need to be addressed BEFORE signing anything. That is the only leverage you will ever have.

Thanks for the reply...where would one find someone like that?
Also it?s not the salesman, it?s their service tech that I spoke with. All the salesmen were out at a show.

Humanaquarian said:
where would one find someone like that?
Also it?s not the salesman, it?s their service tech that I spoke with. All the salesmen were out at a show.

You could start here but a basic Google search would probably find someone.