Noise in driveshaft and/or u joints

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cgmartin

I have a 2008 Class C Tioga 31M. In the last few months, a noise has developed somewhere near the rear end. I have suspected it may be the driveshaft or u joints. I got underneath the motorhome and they seemed fine, and there was no movement in the driveshaft, either clockwise, or counter clock wise. I am not a mechanic, so it was not an actual inspection. This is a crackling kind of noise and only happens at very, very low speeds, like at 5 mph. I had my wife stand toward the rear of the motorhome, and she told me it was coming from somewhere near the middle, which is where one of the u joints is. It is a two piece driveshaft. Does anyone with a Ford Class C, particularly a Tioga 31M, experience such a noise and can shed some light as to what is causing it? I mentioned this noise to a mechanic and he did not think it was the driveshaft or u joints. So now, what?

I saw a guy on Utube that found an odd undercarrage issue by duct taping his phone under the vehicle and observing everything as it was going down the road.

I absolutely love the 'University of Utube'... :D

With the tires sitting on the ground, chances are you wouldn't see any movement in the joints. You probably would have to jack the entire rear end off the ground then check them.

I'm having a tough time imagining a "crackling kind of noise" from a U-joint or carrier.  Or that it goes away as speed increases. I think you need to be looking for other possible causes.

cgmartin said:
.... I had my wife stand toward the rear of the motorhome, and she told me it was coming from somewhere near the middle,.... So now, what?

TonyDtorch said:
I saw a guy on Utube that found an odd undercarrage issue by duct taping his phone under the vehicle ...