Transmission has no park position, being told this normal?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scottb5

Yep, I'm a newbie. I'm have been told by a seller that this 1989 Mallard 31 ft. with a 454 does not have a position on the transmission lever for park.
What the heck? He claims that this is normal. I am under the opinion that there is something wrong with the transmission.
Can anyone please verify this for me?
Thanks,
ScottB5

While some transmissions such as the Allison 6 speed in our Eagle on a Spartan chassis does not have a park position I would be very much suprised if the 89 Mallard didn't have one.  Since you mentioned it has a 454 I suspect it is on a Chevy or GM chassis.  In any case I would not take the salemans word I would recommend getting the VIN number and contacting the chassis manufacturer.  If you determine the salesman is lying I would walk away since you never know what other lies he is telling you.

While there is a Park position on the steering column it doesn't actually lock the gears in Park on the transmission. What it does is activate a break that is around the driveshaft. You can tell this is happening because a BRAKE light will show up on the dash display. To the best of my knowledge all Chev P30 chassis with 454 and 4sp auto transmissions have this.

Woody

Ron,

I think only the Chev P30 had it. BTW, I mispelled "brake" too.  :)

Woody

Ron & Woody,
Thanks for replying. I am still mystified by this situation. The shift lever has no indicator like a car with P, R, N, D , L etc. I don't recall a brake light on the dashboard/instrument panel. I was so overwhelmed with trying to check everything out, not miss something and the sheer size of the beast, I guess that I had sensory over-load.