rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: GPS Recommendations  (Read 1829 times)

James & Erin

• ---
GPS Recommendations
« on: March 04, 2018, 09:16:53 AM »
Considering a GPS. 

I've scanned the forums a bit and found a few candidates, but wanted to ask again based on new info, new models, etc.  I really like the idea of being able to program in the rig dimensions and weight.

Any outstanding units to look at or avoid? 

Larry N.

• ---
  • Westminster, CO
Re: GPS Recommendations
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2018, 11:19:26 AM »
I've had a Garmin dezl 560LMT for quite a few years, and though it doesn't cater specifically to RVs (well, minimally anyway), I've been pleased with it. The newer Garmin units aimed specifically at RVs (and with a larger screen too) are on my "someday list." Some folks are happy with the Magellan equivalent, though I have no experience with it, so can't comment.
Larry and Mary Ann N.
2016 Newmar Ventana 3709 -ISB6.7 XT 360HP
2015 Wrangler Sahara Unlimited toad
Formerly: Trailmanor 2720SL, Bounder, Beaver
  de N8GGG

phil-t

• ---
  • Moving Along
« Reply #2 on: March 04, 2018, 06:22:46 PM »
We got the Garmin dezl 770 last fall and I'm pleased with it.  You can enter the size of your rig (it would be a box truck, on this device).  Like was said it does not have RV specific settings.  You can install all the costom POI files you want though, like campsites, etc.
I've been using it in my everyday driver to get familiar with it, seems good to me.  I use my, or my wife's phone map app as a backup most all the time.
2010 Winnebago Vista 32K on an '09 F53 22K Ford V-10 gas chassis.
2014 Cadillac SRX in tow.
CHF, DIY rear TrackBar
Retired - Moving Along

James & Erin

• ---
« Reply #3 on: March 04, 2018, 06:54:23 PM »
Leaning toward the 770 at the moment.

Larry N.

• ---
  • Westminster, CO
« Reply #4 on: March 04, 2018, 08:36:20 PM »
Leaning toward the 770 at the moment.