GPS Recommendations

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

James & Erin

Considering a GPS. 

I've scanned the forums a bit and found a few candidates, but wanted to ask again based on new info, new models, etc.  I really like the idea of being able to program in the rig dimensions and weight.

Any outstanding units to look at or avoid? 

I've had a Garmin dezl 560LMT for quite a few years, and though it doesn't cater specifically to RVs (well, minimally anyway), I've been pleased with it. The newer Garmin units aimed specifically at RVs (and with a larger screen too) are on my "someday list." Some folks are happy with the Magellan equivalent, though I have no experience with it, so can't comment.

We got the Garmin dezl 770 last fall and I'm pleased with it.  You can enter the size of your rig (it would be a box truck, on this device).  Like was said it does not have RV specific settings.  You can install all the costom POI files you want though, like campsites, etc.
I've been using it in my everyday driver to get familiar with it, seems good to me.  I use my, or my wife's phone map app as a backup most all the time.

James & Erin said:
Leaning toward the 770 at the moment.

Note that there are two "770" Garmins, the "dezl" (for trucks) and the "RV" for RVs. Though the two are similar, the "RV" model should be a bit better for RV usage, due to the feature differences.

I bought my first GPS in 2004 (a POS from Magellan) and I have had many GPSs since then, currently a Garmin 2757) and I fail to see the point of a 'GPS for RVers'. I have always used a normal GPS and it works just fine.

Because the GPS for RV's can use the height, weight, and length of an RV to guide one around low overheads, weight restricted bridges, etc.

kdbgoat said: