rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: Noise in driveshaft and/or u joints  (Read 1344 times)

cgmartin

• ---
Noise in driveshaft and/or u joints
« on: February 26, 2018, 06:20:58 PM »
I have a 2008 Class C Tioga 31M. In the last few months, a noise has developed somewhere near the rear end. I have suspected it may be the driveshaft or u joints. I got underneath the motorhome and they seemed fine, and there was no movement in the driveshaft, either clockwise, or counter clock wise. I am not a mechanic, so it was not an actual inspection. This is a crackling kind of noise and only happens at very, very low speeds, like at 5 mph. I had my wife stand toward the rear of the motorhome, and she told me it was coming from somewhere near the middle, which is where one of the u joints is. It is a two piece driveshaft. Does anyone with a Ford Class C, particularly a Tioga 31M, experience such a noise and can shed some light as to what is causing it? I mentioned this noise to a mechanic and he did not think it was the driveshaft or u joints. So now, what?

lynnmor

• ---
Re: Noise in driveshaft and/or u joints
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2018, 06:34:46 PM »
If it has a center carrier bearing, it might be toast.

TonyDtorch

« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2018, 07:26:07 PM »
I saw a guy on Utube that found an odd undercarrage issue by duct taping his phone under the vehicle and observing everything as it was going down the road.

I absolutely love the 'University of Utube'... :D
« Last Edit: February 26, 2018, 07:54:05 PM by TonyDtorch »

Rene T

• Forum Staff
  • ---
  • Every day is payday and every payday I have off
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2018, 08:10:41 PM »
With the tires sitting on the ground, chances are you wouldn't see any movement in the joints. You probably would have to jack the entire rear end off the ground then check them.
Rene, Lucille & co-pilot Buddy
AKA  Pep N Mem