WDH and Anti-sway

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

welmack

I need the advice of more experienced people like those on this board.

We have a 2004 GMC Envoy and a 19ft Aerolite two axle trailer. The trailer weighs about 4400 lbs loaded and rides level with my regular hitch. It pulls good around town but I haven't had it out on the road. The Envoy has air ride suspension on the rear and I have heard that this type suspension  and WD hitches don't play well together. I always worry about swaying because of the many accidents caused that way. Do the benefits of the hitch outweigh the problems of the suspension, or is the problem of the hitch and the  suspension not playing well together over blown.

I depend on the knowledge of this board especially since this is completely out of my zone of experience. Thanks in advance for your recommendations.

I am NOT an expert here!  My gut feel is that the WD hitch is designed to raise the fear of the TV by pushing some weight forward, or distributing the weight differently.  Your air suspension is doing this.

For sway control, the most important thing is making SURE you have at least 10% - 12% of the total TT weight carried by the tongue.

Check this video.

https://imgur.com/gallery/3PQFK7Y

Watch and read the videos and articles on the Equalizer site they explain it very well.

https://www.equalizerhitch.com  They are the original inverters of this kind of system.

Sway is caused by not having enough weight at the front of the trailer.  Trying to keep the trailer tongue weight light so the combo doesn't sag in the middle transfers too much weight rearward on the trailer, creating sway conditions.

You should have at least 10-15% of the trailer's weight on the tongue (440-660 lbs).  Less than this can create sway.