Holding/playing with a pick

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tom

Administrator
I must admit that I've always had the toughest time holding a pick while playing a guitar or banjo. I tend to use my fingernails (as I do on ukulele), which doesn't give anywhere near the volume on the larger instruments. I've resolved to fix this problem by practicing, slowly at first, then hopefully increasing speed. I've watched countless You Tube videos, all with different suggestions. Anyone have a special/magic tip? TIA.

I don't have any suggestions because I have been using a pick for over 50 years. It is just the way I have always played except for a little finger picking and classical stuff. I tried to play the uke with my fingers but I did not like it so I have been using a pick ever since then. Most beginners use a pick that is way too thin. Much better control with a stiff pick (gotta be careful typing that) and hold it so that only about a quarter of an inch is sticking out between the thumb and index finger.

I use a pick when I need to.  I prefer thin to medium ones because they make a little bit less noise than thicker ones.  (Better be careful with that statement too!)

Some of my jazz buds make their own.  They take a normal thumb pick and grind down the point and glue a normal light to medium pick to it.  It kind of ends up looking like these, but the actual pick portion is shorter and more rounded.

Attachments

• IMG_1723.JPG
    IMG_1723.JPG
    17.3 KB · Views: 12
One of the guitar players in our uke band makes (cuts) his picks out of old credit cards. I may need to glue a pick to my forefinger/thumb  :(

Thanks Russ. Looks like just what I need.