Towing 7000# TT with Ram 1500

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dcm1379

Ok I am new to towing trailer of that weight class towed alot of smaller ones, my question is do they rock around and push my truck around abit. I have installed air lift 1000 bags which helped lots as well I have husky wd hitch and sometimes run with 2 sway bars on as well and it still moves around. So for the next question is this normal do they move around?

Check your actual tongue weight. It should be 10% of the loaded trailer's weight at a minimum. closer to 15% is better. Have you check your hitch set-up since loading the trailer? I pulled 8200# of trailer with my Ram 1500, and another trailer that was 7000# without an issue. 8200# was maxing everything though. Unless your 1500 has a really low payload, you should pull that trailer easily. What brand of hitch are you using?

kdbgoat said:
Check your actual tongue weight. It should be 10% of the loaded trailer's weight at a minimum. closer to 15% is better.

Ditto: Need 10 to 15 percent of TT weight on the tongue. I pull a 6300 TT with my Ram and I haven't needed  sway control.  I once pulled a 2300 lb trailer that did not have enough tongue weight and the jerking almost took me off the road.

Tongue weight!  Here is how to determine YOUR actual tongue wt.

https://www.etrailer.com/faq-how-to-determine-trailer-tongue-weight.aspx

I suspect this will fix your problem.

I use a husky round bar WD hitch with the side sway bar sometimes I run 2 of them.
No I have not actually weighed it that is the next step in the elimination process

Speed is about 60 mph it usually snaps back into place but sometimes I have to apply the trailer brakes. When it is happening sure tosses the truck around.